The Constitution of the RCA

The purpose of the Reformed Church in America, together with all other churches of Christ, is to minister to the total life of all people by preaching, teaching, and proclamation of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, and by all Christian good works.

That purpose is achieved most effectively when good order and proper discipline are maintained by means of certain offices, governmental agencies, and theological and liturgical standards.

The Holy Scriptures are the only rule of faith and practice in the Reformed Church in America.

The Constitution of the RCA consists of:

  1. Doctrinal standards (Belgic Confession, Belhar Confession, Heidelberg Catechism with its Compendium, Canons of the Synod of Dort; together these are referred to as the Standards of the Reformed Church in America)
  2. Liturgy: specifically the Liturgy and the Directory for Worship (the directory functions as an instructional appendix to the Liturgy) 
  3. Polity (the Government of the Reformed Church in America, the Disciplinary and Judicial Procedures, the Preamble to the Book of Church Order, and the Formularies, all of which are found in the Book of Church Order)