General Synod Council Reformed Church in America Minutes of January 31, 2022 Meeting Zoom Videoconference

Welcome and Prayer

Ned Beadel, moderator of the General Synod Council (GSC), called the January 31, 2022 meeting to order at 12:01 p.m. (eastern) followed by prayer.

Members Present

The following members of the GSC were present for all or part of the meeting:

Pedro Agudelo Eric Moreno Eddy Alemán, ex-officio Sheila Moses **Eric Nichols** Phillip Assink Ned Beadel Albert Plat Michelle Chahine Neale Roller Devonna Cousins Jidong Shan Susan Davis Glenn Spyksma Bruce Deckinga Kimberly Van Es Hellen Harvey Leigh Van Kempen Dwayne Jackson Harris Van Oort Robert Johnson Patricia Varga Kent McHeard Imos Wu Michael Meyer-Veen

Members Absent

The following members of the GSC were unable to attend the meeting:

Carole Barber Kathryn Lohre (ELCA) EJ de Waard Lee Vande Voort

Staff and Guests

The following staff members and guests were present for all or part of the meeting:

Terri Boven, Recorder
Elizabeth Brand, Director of General Synod Operations
Thomas Smith, Regional Synod Observer from Council of Synod
Executives
Jillisa Teitsma, Chief Financial Officer
Angela Worthley, Recorder

RF 21-1 Restructuring Team

Eddy Alemán, general secretary, presented an additional name to replace the member not approved at the January 26, 2022 meeting. Members of the GSC were given the opportunity to provide feedback.

GSC 22-08

Motion made, supported and carried to approve the additional appointment to the RF 21-1 restructuring team.

See Schedule GSC 22-08 for the list of approved names in alphabetical order.

March 2022 Meeting

The moderator updated the GSC members that the officers have decided the GSC's stated meeting on March 22-23 will take place virtually.

Adjournment

GSC 22-09

Motion made, supported, and carried to adjourn the January 31, 2022 meeting of the GSC at 12:09 p.m. (eastern) following closing prayer by Eric Moreno.

Terri Boven, Recorder Angela Worthley, Recorder

Schedule GSC 22-08

Approved RF 21-1 Restructuring Team and Resource People

Regular team members with vote:

Eddy Alemán, General Secretary of the Reformed Church in America

Dale Assink, Strategic Leader of the Central Plains Classis

Greg Brower, Pastor at Zion Reformed Church in Grandville, MI

Michelle Chahine, elder and member of the GSC

Chad Farrand, Classis Leader, Classis de las Naciones

Andrea Godwin, trustee at Western Theological Seminary and specialized minister of the Central Plains Classis

Sung Kim, Pastor at Grace Church in Ann Arbor and Associate General Secretary/COO of the Reformed Church in America

Micah McCreary, President of New Brunswick Theological Seminary and General Synod Professor

Ina Montoya, elder at Jicarilla Apache Reformed Church in Dulce, NM

Young Na, Pastor at Forrest Park Reformed Church in Queens, NY

Dionne Harvey Parks, elder at Chosen Generation Church, Long Beach, CA

Andres Serrano, Pastor at Iglesia La Senda and Coordinator for Hispanic Ministries of the Reformed Church in America

Gildo Vieira, elder at Igreja Vida Nova in Ontario, Canada

Resource people without a vote:

Tim TenClay, Pastor at The Community Reformed Church in Manhasset, NY One person from the Commission on Church Order One person from the Vision 2020 Team (Brian Keepers or Marijke Strong) Dr. Bob Logan will serve as the facilitator