General Synod Council serving as the Committee of Reference Reformed Church in America Minutes of June 9, 2022 Meeting Central College, Pella, Iowa

Welcome and Prayer

Ms. Michelle Chahine called the meeting of the General Synod Council (GSC) serving as the Committee of Reference (Committee) to order on June 9, 2022, at 12:03 p.m. followed by prayer. Ned Beadel, moderator of the GSC, had asked Ms. Chahine previously to lead the meeting when he knew that he was going to be unable to attend. Attendees introduced themselves.

Members Present

The following members of the Committee were present for all or part of the meeting:

Eddy Alemán, ex-officio Sheila Moses
Philip Assink Eric Nichols
Michelle Chahine Neale Roller
Devonna Cousins Jidong Shan
Susan Davis Glenn Spyksma
Bruce Deckinga Kimberly Van Es
Hellen Harvey Leigh Van Kempen
Dwayne Jackson Harris Van Oort

Kent McHeard Imos Wu

Michael Meyer-Veen

Members Absent

The following members of the Committee were unable to attend the meeting:

Pedro Agudelo Kathryn Lohre (ELCA)

Carole Barber Eric Moreno Ned Beadel Albert Plat EJ de Waard Patricia Varga

Staff and Guests

The following staff members and guests were present for all or part of the meeting:

Terri Boven, Recorder

Elizabeth Brand, Director of General Synod Operations

Thomas Smith, Regional Synod Observer from Council of Synod Executives

Christina Tazelaar, *Chief Communications Officer*Jillisa Teitsma, *Chief Financial Officer*Angela Worthley, *Recorder*

General Synod

Elizabeth Brand addressed the Committee regarding (a) the 2022 General Synod schedule, and (b) a change to the membership of the special advisory committees that was approved at the May 2, 2022 GSC meeting. The following revised membership was presented (addition is underlined; deletion is stricken):

Overtures and New Business

Moderator: Cora Taitt (minister, Classis of New York) Vice Moderator: Corinne Ellis (minister, Classis of the Southwest)

Ministers

Sarah Bruins (Classis of North Grand Rapids) Dirk Gieser (Classis of Albany) David Hubbartt (Classis de las Naciones) Marjorie Vander Wagen (Classis of Chicago)

Elders

Elba Arias Lopez (Classis of Orange) Kenneth Mallory (Classis of West Sioux) Denis Mugabo (Classis of Canadian Prairies) Robert Schoales (Classis of California) Lois Gates (Classis of Central Iowa)

General Synod Professor James Brownson

Church Order and Governance

Moderator: Jonathan Opgenorth (minister, Classis of Zeeland) Vice Moderator: Timothy Grade (minister, Classis of Rocky Mountains)

Ministers

Kristin Brouwer (Classis of East Sioux) Kyle Nesbitt (Classis of Cascades) Ryan Cogswell (Classis of Montgomery) Brandon Beebe (Classis of Southwest Michigan)

Elders

Sara Donkersloot (Classis of Zeeland)

Savitri Devi Mark (Classis of Columbia-Greene) Barbara Pimentel (Classis of Brooklyn) Willie Si (Synod of Canada)

General Synod Professor Micah McCreary

GSC 22-35 Motion made, supported, and adopted:

To approve (a) the 2022 General Synod schedule as presented, and (b) the change to the membership of the special advisory committees as presented.

Elizabeth Brand addressed the Committee regarding its role and responsibilities at General Synod.

The *Book of Church Order* states that delegates are expected to attend all meetings of the General Synod session unless excused by the Committee of Reference (*BCO* Chapter 3, Part I, Article 1, Section 2, 2021 ed. p. 107). The following voting delegates had submitted requests to be excused from various meetings.

- Mark Kamper (Classis of Zeeland): Closing worship
- Todd Krygsheld (Classis of Zeeland): Tuesday morning
- Jason Semans (Classis of Pleasant Prairie): Monday evening
- Ned Beadel (Classis of California): Thursday and Friday morning and afternoon
- Mark Andersen (Classis of Central Iowa): Saturday evening
- Brian Keepers (Classis of East Sioux): Thursday and Friday morning and afternoon

GSC 22-36 Motion made, supported, and adopted:

To excuse the absences of Mark Kamper, Todd Krygsheld, Jason Semans, Ned Beadel, Mark Andersen, and Brian Keepers as presented from the meetings of the General Synod 2022.

GSC 22-37 Motion made, supported, and adopted to adjourn the June 9, 2022 meeting of the Committee at 1:04 p.m. following prayer by Dwayne Jackson.

Terri Boven, Recorder Angela Worthley, Recorder